Establishment of a Nordic chapter

Establishment of a Nordic chapter

SRA-E: NORDIC is a newly established regional chapter of the Society for Risk Analysis Europe. The Nordic chapter of SRA Europe is meant to be a node for networking between risk researchers and between risk research and policy makers and other decision makers in the Nordic and the Baltic countries.

The Nordic chapter shares the aim with SRA Europe which is “to bring together individuals and organisations interested in risk assessment, risk management and risk communication in Europe”. More specifically the SRA-E: NORDIC will promote risk research and knowledge and understanding of risk analysis techniques. This can be to identify and address specifically Nordic and Baltic issues in the field of risk, to promote debate, and facilitate exchanges of information and opinion between professionals in industry, government, universities, research institutes, and consultancies. It has the ambition to convene and promote scientific and educational meetings on risk research, risk analysis and risk management in the Nordic and Baltic countries.

The Nordic Chapter welcomes a broad range of risk research from different disciplines. The statutes of SRA-E: NORDIC are available HERE.

Subscribe to our newsletter and get information about activities under the SRA-E: NORDIC by clicking HERE or send an email to!

It is possible to become a member of the Nordic Chapter of SRA Europe. In order to become a member of the Nordic chapter, you have to be member of SRA-E and then ask to also be a member of SRA-E NORDIC. You become a member of SRA-E by either 1) registering via the SRA homepage selecting SRA-E memebership or 2) attending the SRA-E conference selecting SRA-E membership. Please note that by attending the SRA-E conference you do not automatically become member of SRA.

More info about SRA membership benefits and how to apply or renew SRA membership is found here:  

At the meeting in Gothenborg, November 2016, a Board was elected. Members of the Board are:

  • Ullrika Sahlin, Lund University, Sweden (President for two years - starting from June 2015)
  • Marja Ylönen, Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finland (President elect – to take over in June 2017 and then be president for two years)
  • Sandra Hogenboom , Marine Technology, NTNU, Norway
  • Susanne Öhman, Mid Sweden University, Sweden
  • Igor Kozine, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Aistė Balžekienė, Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania Student representatives:
  • Ingibjörg Lilja Omarsdottir, University of Iceland, Iceland
  • Björn Arvidsson, Lund University, Sweden

For inquiries contact the SRA-E: NORDIC president Ullrika Sahlin, Lund University, Sweden:

Last modified: 30 November 2016